如何飞

无人机竞速史

今天的无人机及固定翼无人飞机,其起源可追溯至20世纪初的军用器械。然而,一段时间以来,这项技术也为私人所使用——鉴于其应用范围的广泛,这是顺理成章的。 

如今,无人机常被用于航拍、娱乐及科研领域。在2013年左右,四旋翼飞行器已经流行了好几年,逐渐由小众爱好转变为复杂的赛事。当澳大利亚举办 “摩托车越野赛”时,无人机比赛开始初次占领一席之地。在这里,飞手依靠第一人称视角(FPV)眼镜,获得无人机“驾驶舱”内的视野,这使他们能够从远处便捷地操控无人机。 

此即我们当今所组织的比赛的原型;而观看量和社交媒体数据显示,对无人机竞速赛事的兴趣在继续稳步增长。 

此外,安联,AIG和沃达丰等大公司的参与表明,无人机赛事已跻身主流。

主系统

竞速无人机与常见的摄影摄像无人机大不相同。 该系统专为极速、敏捷性和续航力而打造,直接由飞手操控,无需使用GPS导航或其他电脑辅助工具。 凭借令人难以置信的加速能力和灵活性,在适合的条件和设置下,它可以达到超过140公里的速度,并持续飞行数公里 

框架

竞速无人机的框架可被视为其骨骼:将所有电子组件固定在一起的刚性结构。 它通常由最坚固的碳纤维制成,以承受频繁和剧烈的碰撞。 在DCL的赛事用机中,机身对角线(旋翼到旋翼)尺寸最小为325mm

推力系统

加速和操纵无人机的推力由塑料螺旋桨产生,通过强大的无刷电动机以可变的速度旋转。 根据所需的转速ESC电子调速器)负责向电机提供正确的电流量。 最常见的竞速螺旋推进器直径为56英寸,带有3个桨叶。 一台电机可以输出高达1.5千克的推力,总重量为6千克,适用于700克的直升机,推力重量比可达81 

电池

DCL竞速无人机使用4节高性能Li-Po锂聚合物)电池。 它们的额定电压为14.8 V可放电至120-150安培。 电池可以有不同的尺寸和容量,但它们通常至少可以持续2-3分钟的最高速竞速 

FPV系统

FPV(第一人称视角)系统允许飞手和观众通过无人机的镜头实时看到飞行过程,从而获得令人难以置信的身临其境的高速体验。  

该系统由一个小型模拟摄像机(通常约600TL)、视频发射机(VTX)和FPV天线组成。 由VTX编码摄像机拍摄视频,并使用极低延迟(约15毫秒)的5.8 GHz无线发射器将其传送到飞手FPV眼镜的接收器中。 

控制系统

第二个天线通过辅助无线发射器接收飞手遥控端的命令。译解信息后,传送给飞行控制器。 飞行控制器是无人机的“大脑”。 它的主要传感器是一个陀螺仪,用于测量其旋转速度。 飞控将检测到的转速与飞手要求的转速进行比较,并精确计算每秒数千次的每台电机的必要转速,以便无人机执行飞手所要求的操作 

高清摄像头

FPV视频系统针对极低的延迟进行了优化,其视频质量和分辨率通常较不理想。 出于该原因,大多数飞手另使用高清操作摄像头来拍摄惊人的高清素材。 最常用的是GoPro Session因其形状因素和高质成像而著名 

结论

除了上诉主要系统外,竞速无人机通常还安装有其他小型部件:其中最重要的部件是一系列彩色LED这使得无人机易于为其他飞手和观众识别 

何为无人机竞速?

“无人机竞速”一词代表了一种面向年轻一代的新型竞速运动。 

在比赛中,主要挑战在于驾驶自己的无人机通过航道,该赛道设有各类自然形成或人为障碍及弯道。 获胜目标是首先飞完。  

无人机赛事可以有不同的形式: 

在计时赛中,飞手独自在赛道上飞行。 只有在比赛结束时,飞手才能相互比较比赛用时成绩。而拉力赛更加动感十足,在赛道上同时有两个或更多的无人机共同角逐。 比赛目标即成为首个飞完100米长的赛道的飞手。 在越野赛中,多部无人机一同在赛道上飞行,率先到达终点的飞手将会获胜。 

无人机比赛看起来如何?  

飞手们佩戴着FPV眼镜,在赛台上的“驾驶舱”中比邻而坐,并遥控控制无人机,以无人机视角飞过赛道。 无人机机身配备了不同颜色的LED灯,以便观众可以识别哪台无人机属于哪个飞手。 赛道全程有不同的障碍门及其他天然障碍,共同组成三维立体赛道。 由于超高的飞行速度(最高超过140公里/小时)和从0到100公里/小时的加速度,各种事故往往是不可避免的,从而为比赛提供了更多的未知性和刺激看点。

谁能成为飞手?

任何人都可以进入无人机竞速世界并成为冠军。 年龄、性别和背景无关紧要。 由于无人机的价格低于其他竞速运动,因此进入门槛也比较低。 DCL飞行员来自世界各地,包括亚洲、美洲、澳洲和欧洲,并且已经在许多赛事中积累了经验。 除了许多令人兴奋的可能性之外,赢得这些赛事还将获得高额奖金 

DCL赛事如何运作?

我们重新设计了比赛形式,以便更好地为飞迷、飞手和赛队服务 ——更刺激,更多样化,更强劲,更高战略性。资格赛包括竞速时间赛,一个赛队在资格赛中的团体成绩决定了该队在后续比赛中的出场位置。在各决赛中,两支由四名飞手组成的赛队将在5轮比赛中相互竞争。第1-4轮被称为“single heats”,因为单轮实行1对1形式。每次“single heat”的获胜者可为其所属的赛队赢得1分。 

Heat 5,或称之为“big heat”,实行4比4制度,所有8名队员共同角逐。获胜队获得1分,如果同一队的3名飞手获得前三名,额外奖励3分;如果同一队的4名飞手获得前四名,额外奖励5分。每个小组的每名飞手均以“single heats”开始比赛(总共4场比赛),决赛为单场 “big heat”。五轮比赛后,得分最多的球队会晋级下一轮;如果是决赛,则获得无人机大奖赛冠军。 

资格赛
竞速时间赛
四分之一决赛
5 Heats
半决赛
5 Heats
决赛
5 Heats

如何从第一步开始学习飞行无人机?

飞行竞速无人机需要反复练习和耐心,万事开头难。事故是练习过程中不可避免的一部分。正确的前期准备很重要,以下是新飞手练习技巧列表:

  • 购买竞速无人:如前所述,比赛无人机可以以相对较低的价格购买。竞速无人机的花费约为1000人民币左右。然而,也有更昂贵的高端机。不过,我们建议初学者从入门机型开始。 请参阅“最适合初学者的竞速无人机”一节。 追加提醒:摄像镜头必须始终处于运行状态,因为它是FPV无人机飞行的基础。镜头应支持60帧率的拍摄。
  • 第一次无人机飞行:在大多数情况下,无人机开箱后,您可以立即开始尝试。请将无人机放在您面前的地面上,并使镜头背向您。 随即开始操控遥控器。 初始阶段不必急着尝试FPV眼镜,在你有信心流畅操控无人机后再使用它。
  • 首次飞行:最佳方式是在垂直方向上移动遥控器上的操控按钮。 接下来,你可以用左边的操控杆改变方向。
  • 戴上FPV眼镜:当你感觉可以安全驾驶无人机后,可开始使用FPV眼镜。 这里有另一个提示:确保相机背对着你并指向前方。 有关更多提示和技巧,请观看在线视频。

哪种竞速无人机是入门者的最佳选择?

以下是关于竞速无人机的建议。取决于可用的预算,有不同的机型以供选择。摄像机能以60 帧率摄录并且不通过WLAN传输这些图像非常重要。无人机延迟(数据传输的延迟)超过300毫秒即太高,难以在高速下控制

这只是一小部分选择而已,目前的无人机配件市场选择多样、供货充足,如果这些满足不了你的需求,你大可以在现有的整机之外找到适合自己的可组装配件,来创造属于你的无人机。

How it works

The history of drone racing

Drones and unmanned aerial vehicles have a military origin dating back to the beginning of the 20th century. For some time now, however, the technology has also been used by private individuals – and this is no wonder given its wide range of applications.  Nowadays, drones are used for aerial photography, entertainment, and research. Around 2013, after flying quadrocopters had already been a popular hobby for several years, the change from sideline to complex competitions occurred. The drone races first came into play when in Australia the so-called “Rotocross” (of motocross) took place. Here, the pilots relied on first-person-view (FPV) goggles, providing the view from the “cockpit” of the drone.  This allowed them to control the drone conveniently from a distance.  This is the origin of the races as we organize them today; and as the viewing and social media figures reveal, interest continues to grow steadily. In addition, the involvement of major corporations such as Allianz, AIG, and Vodafone shows that races with drones have become mainstream.

main systems

A racing quadcopter is substantially different from common photography drones. Built for extreme speed, agility and durability, it’s controlled directly by the pilot without the use of GPS navigation or other computer assistance. With incredible acceleration and agility, it can reach a speed of over 160 kmh and fly for several kilometers given the right conditions and setup.

frame

The frame of a racing quadcopter can be considered as its bones: the rigid structure that holds all the electronic components together. It’s generally made of the strongest carbon fibre to withstand frequent and hard crashes. In DCL, the minimum size is a diagonal of 325mm (motor to motor).

thrust system

The thrust that accelerates and manoeuvres the copter is generated by plastic propellers, spun at variable speeds by powerful brushless electric motors. The ESC (electronic speed controllers) are responsible for delivering the correct amount of current to the motors, according to the required rotation speed. The most commonly used propellers for racing are 5 or 6 inches in diameter, with 3 blades. A single motor can output up to 1.5 kg of thrust for a total of 6 kg, applied to a Copter of 700g creating a thrust-to-weight ratio up to 8/1.

battery

DCL racing quadcopters use 4-cell, high performance Li-Po (Lithium Polymer) batteries. They operate at a nominal voltage of 14.8 V and they can discharge up to 120-150 Amperes of current. Batteries can have different sizes and capacity, but they typically last up to 2-3 minutes of high speed racing.

fpv system

The FPV (First Person View) system allows the pilot and the spectators to see – in real time – through the quadcopter’s robotic eye, allowing for an incredibly immersive, high speed, experience. The system consists of a small analog camera (usually around 600 tv lines), a video transmitter (VTX) and a FPV antenna. The VTX encodes the video captured by the camera and sends it to the receiver on the pilot’s goggles using a 5.8 GHz radio link with very low latency (approx 15ms).

controls system

A second antenna receives the commands of the pilot’s remote control through a secondary radio link. The receiver interprets them and communicates them to the flight controller. The flight controller is the “brain” of the quadcopter. Its main sensor is a gyroscope that measures its rotation speed. The FC compares the detected rotation speed with the one requested by the pilot and calculates, with precision, thousands of times per second, the necessary rotation speed of each single motor, so that the copter can execute what the pilot is requesting.

hd camera

The FPV video system is optimized for extremely low latency, it’s video quality and resolution are generally very poor. For this reason most pilots use an HD action camera to capture stunning HD footage. The most commonly used are the GoPro Session, because of their form factor and quality of footage.

conclusion

Apart from the main systems described, racing quadcopters often install other minor components: one of the most important is an array of colored LEDs, which makes the quadcopters easy to identify for other pilots and for spectators.

What is Drone Racing?

The term Drone Racing stands for a new kind of motorsport aimed at a young generation.

During the race, the challenge is to master a course with your own quadrocopter, which offers chicanes from different natural and artificial obstacles. The goal is to finish first. Drone-racing is possible in different formats:

In Time Trial races, the pilots are alone on the track. Only at the end of the racing, are the race times compared between the pilots. Drag races are more action-packed, with two or more drones on the track. The aim is to be the first to complete the 100-metre-long course. In Rotocross, several drones fly through the track, which is also used in time races. Here, too, the pilot whose drone is first to reach the finish wins.

And what does a drone race look like?  The pilots sit next to each other on stage in their “cockpit” and wear FPV goggles to fly through the track from the perspective of their drones, whereby the drone is controlled by remote control. LED lights in different colours are attached to the quadrocopters so that spectators can follow which pilot belongs to which drone. From the start to the finish there are different gates and natural obstacles which form a three-dimensional race track. Due to the often high speeds (the maximum speed is over 160 km/h) and the high acceleration from 0 to 100 km/h, accidents are often unavoidable.

 

Who are the pilots?

Anyone can enter the world of drone racing and become a champion. Age, gender, and background are irrelevant. Due to the low prices for drones as compared to other racing disciplines, the entry barrier is also quite low. DCL pilots come from all over the world, including Asia, North & South America, Australia, and Europe and have already gained experience in many races. In addition to many exciting possibilities, there will be high prize money at the events.

How does the DCL racing format work?

We’ve redesigned our racing format to better serve fans, pilots and teams – more excitement, more presence, more strategy and more energy. Qualification races consist of time trials in which the overall result of a team decides where it will be placed in the final rounds. In each of the final rounds, two teams of four pilots compete against each other in 5 runs. Runs 1-4 are called “single heats” because each run is 1 against 1.  The winner of each “single heat” earns 1 point for their team.

Heat 5, or the “big heat”, is 4 vs. 4, where all 8 team pilots fly. The winning team receives 1 point, a bonus of 3 points is rewarded if 3 pilots of the same team finish in the first 3 positions and a bonus of 5 points is rewarded if 4 pilots from the same team finish in the first 4 positions.  Each pilot from each team starts in a “single heat” (a total of 4 individual competitions) and the final is a “big heat”.  The team with the most points after 5 runs advances to the next round or wins the Drone Prix if it’s the final round.

Qualification
Time Trials
Quarterfinal
5 Heats
Semifinal
5 Heats
Final
5 Heats

What are the first steps to learn how to fly a race drone?

Flying a race drone takes practice and patience because the beginning can be frustrating. Accidents are simply part of the process. This makes it important to prepare properly. Below is a list of tips for getting started with flying a race drone:

  • Buying a race drone: As already mentioned, race drones can be purchased for a comparatively low price. The cost of a racing drone starts at around 100 euros. However, in the upper price segment, prices of more than 500 euros are also possible for a corresponding drone. However, we recommend beginners to start with an inexpensive model. See the the section "Best race drones for beginners". By the way: A camera must always be on board because it is fundamental for the FPV drone flight (flying from the first person's view). This should support 60 fps.
  • The first drone flight: In most cases, after unpacking the drone, you can start immediately. To do this, place the drone on the ground in front of you and point the camera away from you. Then take control of the remote. Forego the FPV goggles at the beginning and use them only as soon as you are confident in handling the drone.
  • The first start: The best way to fly is to move the throttle on the remote control in a vertical direction. Next, you can make small changes of direction with the left stick.
  • With FPV-goggles: As soon as you feel safe driving the drone, you can use the FPV goggles. Here's another hint: Make sure that the camera is facing away from you and pointing forward. For more tips and tricks, look for videos online.

What are the best racing drones for beginners?

The following are racing drone recommendations. Depending on the available budget, there are different models to start droning. It is important to have a camera on board that records at 60 fps and does not transmit these images via WLAN. At around 300 ms, the latency (delay in data transmission) would be too high to be able to control the drone at high speeds.

This is only a small selection. The market is well stocked and there are drones and corresponding accessories for everyone. If that is not enough for you, you will find a large selection of parts apart from the finished models to build your own drone.